WASTELAND is an artwork consisting of a system of concrete actions unfolding through time and various locations in order to disseminate on the international scene a series of “clues” about the existence of a nation of my invention, called Garbage Patch State.


Altre Vite


Living Restraint



Two particles



Altri Occhi

Isle of Mozia (Trapani) Fondazione Roma - Terzo Pilastro, "You Cannot say or tell...” installation site specific.

~ Prossimi Eventi / Sept 2015 – Oct 2016

Fondazione Bracco, Milano “VORTICE” installation site specific.

~ Prossimi Eventi / July 15 – 31 Oct 2015

United Nation, Library Geneva

~ Prossimi Eventi / 04/07/2015

Fondazione Bracco, Milano

~ Prossimi Eventi / 15-06-2015

Nazioni Unite, Ginevra

~ Prossimi Eventi / 04-06-2015


A trained architect (Florence University, magna cum laude) and artist, Maria Cristina Finucci has lived and worked in Moscow, New York, Paris, Brussels and Rome, before settling in Madrid. During her career as an architect, the works she produced in different countries have beenpublished in various magazines and books. She also collaborated as a foreign correspondent to the architecture journal Controspazio. Her artistic research, started at a very young age, has encompassed painting, sculpture, architecture, design, video art, and film post-production (object of a personal exhibition at the Lu.C.C.A Museum in 2011). These experiences eventually came to be synthetized in a transmedia work currently embodied in the series Wasteland. This work, which comprises all the actions connected to the Garbage Patch State – which she founded herself – worldwide, not only carries out an ethical and environmental commitment, but also outlines an innovative art form, in tune with current developments. Wasteland started its journey at the Paris headquarters of UNESCO, then moved to Venice, Madrid (ARCO), New York City (United Nations Headquarters), and the Fondazione Bracco in Milan for EXPO 2015. In 2014, Maria Cristina Finucci was awarded the “Golden Apple” of the 26th edition of the Marisa Bellisario Prize, as well as the award “Civiltà dell’Acqua”.